July Resto Review!

31 Jul

Allow me to introduce you to one of my favourite restaurants here in Montreal: Aux Vivres.

If you are a vegetarian/vegan in Montreal, or a Mile End-er, you are already familiar with this place, of course.

Everything I’ve ordered there has been satisfying (except for one horrific chocolate cheesecake of which we shall never speak – it has not been as bad since). I highly recommend all their burgers, rice bowls and chapati wraps; their juices are delicious, and the cake-y desserts, and truffles, are scrumptious. One of their most popular dishes is the “BLT” on chapati, but here’s the deal: you better enjoy coconut because this guy is CHOCK FULL of it. I enjoyed the taste, I don’t think I would have been able to finish both halves of the sandwich if I hadn’t been splitting it with a friend, not just because of the coconut. However, said friend did NOT dig the flavour. Granted, she did not love coconut before this sandwich, but since then, she has not been able to even look at one. So, a word to the wise, if you’re unsure, skip it. There’s about a cup of smoked coconut in there. Yum or yikes, you decide.

Aux Vivres is not without its faults, of course. They aren’t generous with the grilled tofu slices in their various “bowl” dishes, the chili isn’t spicy or particularly zingy, etc. I’m not fussed, though, I’m just so pleased to have a whole menu to choose from, instead of a meager couple of ho-hum options. I guess that’s a sad state of affairs, when a restaurant is a favourite simply because it offers food you can eat, but Aux Vivres is more than that. The atmosphere is warm and bright. It is clean and the waitresses are cute. I have brought non-veggie friends/family there and all of them loved it. You just feel good eating there.

So there you have it, my semi-love letter to a great little veggie spot. A couple of other places here in the big M have a place in my heart, you’ll be hearing about them soon!

À plus!

Leave a Reply

